Track & field athletes earn all-conference honors

Strong showings at invitationals by Amherst athletes


The conference track and field championships were held at Rosholt on Sat., May 13. The following athletes earned all-conference honors:

  1.       Jacob Derezinski  2nd team 100 meter dash, 1st team 400 meter relay
  2.       Max Voss honorable mention 800 meters, honorable mention 1600 meters, 2nd team 1600 meter relay
  3.       Ayden Kazda honorable mention 3200 meters
  4.       Otto Boelk honorable mention 300 meter hurdles, 2nd team 1600 meter relay
  5.       Ethan Zilisch 1St team 400 meter relay, 1st team High Jump
  6.       Westin Allen 1st team 400 meter relay
  7.       Drew Lewallen 1st team 400 meter relay
  8.       Cayden Wright 2nd team 1600 meter relay
  9.       Colton Vander Laan 2nd team 1600 meter relay


It was a good night for the Amherst track and field team at the Rosholt Relays held Tue, May 16.  The girls team finished third and the boys team was crowned champions by a 48-point margin.

 Champions crowned were as follows:

  1.       Jake Derezinski, 100 meters 
  2.       Max Voss, 1600 meters
  3.       Weight 300 meter shuttle relay: Cole Oleson, Gunnar Wierzba and Gibson Kenyon
  4.       800 meter relay team: Cameron Allen, Parker Soulsby, Sam Stuczynski and Cole Oleson
  5.       1600 meter relay team:  Otto Boelk, Colton Vander Laan, Cayden Wright, Max Voss
  6.       1600 meter sprint medley:  Colton Vander Laan, Ethan Zilisch, Westin Allen, Cayden Wright
  7.       Boy’s high jump relay:  Ethan Zilisch, Jake Derezinski, Colton Vander Laan
  8.       Boy’s long jump relay:  Drew Lewallen, Westin Allen, Cameron Allen
  9.       Boy’s triple jump relay:  Otto Boelk, Max Voss, Milo Graham
  10.   Boy’s 400 meter relay: Jake Derezinski, Ethan Zilisch, Westin Allen , Drew Lewallen (Setting a new Rosholt Relays record of 44.56 seconds)
  11.   Girls 400 meter relay: Gracie Szymkowiak, Edurne Caro, Anna Neuenfeldt, Cassidy Kostuch
  12.   Girls long jump relay: Gracie Szymkowiak, Cassidy Kostuch, Amara Beaudoin