The Student News Site of Amherst High School

The Talon

The Talon

The Talon

FBLA Qualifies 38 to State Conference

Seventy-three students from Amherst High School’s Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) chapter competed at Regionals at Athens High School on Sat., Feb. 3. Members competed against 600 students from 29 different schools including D.C. Everest, Marshfield, Rhinelander, and SPASH, as FBLA competes geographically instead of by enrollment.

Students competed by taking a test, presenting, speaking, or interviewing on a business-related topic and needed to place 3rd or higher in their event to qualify for state. Amherst had 38 students qualify for the state competition on April 8 and 9, which will be held in Green Bay, while also placing second overall as a team.

The following teams placed first:

  • TJ Brandl, Jacob Dombrowski, and Balin Wojtalewicz (Network Design)
  • Michael Glodowski, Logan Hintz, and Elliot Podeszwa (Introduction to Programming)

The following teams placed second:

  • Logan Herod and Leila Stremkowski (Hospitality and Event Management)
  • Ty Schelvan, Parker Soulsby, and Eli Zakrzewski (Financial Statement Analysis)
  • Allison Lassa and Sam Nooyen (Introduction to Social Media Strategy)
  • Mia Rockefeller and Presley Voss (Visual Design)

The following teams placed third:

  • Drew Bandy, Delaney Conner, and Addelaide Lemar (Banking & Financial Systems)
  • Aleah Breed, Lily Haas, Eden Lea, Maizee Martin, and Scout Spadoni (Parliamentary Procedure)

The following individuals placed first:

  • Michael Benjamin (Networking Infrastructure)
  • Riley Kostuch (Insurance & Risk Management)
  • Maddie Lusic (Entrepreneurship)
  • Otto Schultz (Database Design)
  • Paige Lemke (Introduction to Business Presentation)

The following individuals placed second:

  • Siri Anderson (Help Desk)
  • Jacob Kirsling (Agribusiness)
  • Katie Lechton (Journalism)
  • Claire Mckenzie (Introduction to Business Procedures)
  • Addison Allen (Introduction to FBLA)

The following individuals placed third:

  • Danica Lassa (Health Care Administration)
  • Kayla Cullen (Securities & Investments)
  • Harlee Kirsling (Job Interview)
  • Ada Stevens (Accounting 2)
  • Alexis Wiesman (Computer Problem Solving)

Special thanks to the 2024 judges, timers, and chaperones: Tanner Schelvan, Hunter Warner, and Carter Zblewski. A thank you also goes out to advisors Travis Zellmer and Jodi Zblewski. Without these individuals and all of the work they do, the success that Amherst FBLA has achieved wouldn’t be possible.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Talon
Our Goal

Your donation will support the student journalists of Amherst High School. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Talon
Our Goal

Comments (0)

All The Talon Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *